Gestes français – Mon œil

mon oeil 2

I have a close friend who is a real Francophile, having worked in both Brussels and Pau she has a habit of using French colloquialisms and expressions.  One I have often seen her use is this above and the phrase mon œil, which means literally my eye.  It is used to express incredulity or disbelief at something or someone.  Great, as you can use it surreptitiously and know one will know. 🙂

Of course I have had a chance to use it quite a bit over the last 48 hours.  I mean what about the European elections?

Always in good company!

Marylin mon oeil

3 thoughts on “Gestes français – Mon œil

  1. My eye! Know this expression well, used prolifically in Liverpool by Scousers, usually followed by ‘Betty Martin’ – ‘My eye and Betty Martin’ – whoever she is!

Leave a Reply

